How I’ve spent my spring and summer

The house I come home to when I take Highway 12 is on a lot that’s two-thirds wooded and falls away somewhat sharply in the back. We had the builder clear the first 20 to 25 feet of trees behind the hose and sow grass. But it was just too steep to mow most of it safely.

So, after we had some more trees and underbrush cleared, we decided to turn the backyard into what’s essentially a big shrub bed, tied together with ground cover — plants I’ve spent the spring and summer installing. I’m not done by a long shot. But I wanted to take stock of the progress so far. Thus, this video.

It’s my first attempt at making a movie, using the video function of a little digital still camera and iMovie and Garage Band software. It’s cinema veri-rough, without a doubt. But, even DeMille had to start somewhere, right?

7 responses to this post.

  1. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and
    wanted to mention that I’ve truly loved surfing around your weblog posts. After all I will be subscribing for your rss feed and I’m hoping you write again
    very soon!

    Reply

  2. Posted by JimK on August 16, 2009 at 1:43 PM

    Dang, Kevin. That’s a lot of work. Seeing stuff like that makes me think condo. But it looks like it’s coming together quite nicely.

    Reply

    • Posted by Kevin Paulk on August 16, 2009 at 2:29 PM

      Thanks, Jim. I can attest that you don’t want to dig holes on a hillside like that, if you value your knees, back and ankles.

      Reply

  3. That ground cover you’ve planted will also help keep the hillside from eroding over time.

    Reply

    • Posted by Kevin Paulk on August 16, 2009 at 2:28 PM

      Thanks, JP. And erosion control would be a good thing. I’m trying to find a local tree service that might have wood chips they’d give me to use as mulch. “Give” being the operative word. It would cost a fortune to buy enough mulch to cover that hillside.

      Reply

  4. Very interesting video. That back yard is quite a challenge indeed. Might want to think about getting an oval-shaped horse trough (Tractor Supply would have them) to use as your rain barrel(s). Nice thing about the trough is most of them have a drain along the bottom of one side, and I suppose a guy could fashion some sort of spigot or hose attachment out of that. And on a really hot day, you could grab you a cold one and just sit in that trough like ya didn’t know any better and/or didn’t care.

    Reply

    • Posted by Kevin Paulk on August 16, 2009 at 2:26 PM

      Thanks, Laird. Actually, I’ve been eyeing that very appliance when I drive past the farmer’s co-op here in Ashland City. I like that idea better than barrels, everything being equal. But several agencies offer some kind of barrel for free, so that’s likely to be the way I go.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

